POWER… OF SORRY

KANYE WEST HAS CHANGED HIS WAYS. A year since the 33-year-old notoriously crashed Taylor Swift’s acceptance speech, he has apparently controlled his ego and ‘found himself’ after suffering heavy criticism from fans and press following the incident.

The Chicago-born rapper said sorry endlessly in public and on Twitter. Carrying the scars of a public backlash (even the president called him up on it), Kanye most recently confessed that he felt very alone for a long time.

XXL Magazine’s October 2010 issue will feature a cover story written by ‘Ye, where he will reveal how he had to take time away to find himself after the awards bash.

“In a way, I had thrown a Molotov cocktail at my own career, and it gave me an opportunity, for the first time, to go away and find out who I was. Because I felt very alone.”

Kanye  says he ‘threw’ himself into the studio to avoid further repercussions. “I knew I wasn’t in a great spot publicly after the incident, but I would just block it out and work as hard as possible and let my work be my saving grace.

(c) Getty

“I stress that the incident wasn’t about Taylor personally. And it definitely wasn’t about race. Where I messed up is, at the end of the day, it’s your show, Taylor. It’s your show, MTV.”

Nonetheless, Kanye said that to some degree, he deserved the backlash and had to realise that he needed to earn respect once again.

“The relationship with the public and with your fans is like the relationship with your girlfriend.

“How could I not, at a certain point, be like, ‘I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have been at the awards show. I’m sorry’?” he wrote.

“Not that I don’t deserve to get beat up or change who I am inside, [but] to make sure that that doesn’t happen again.”

'Ye n Tay, (c) Valuri.com

One response to “POWER… OF SORRY

Leave a Reply

